I Give You Permission with Kim O'Hara
You Should Write A Book About That™
You Can Set The World on Fire with Tanya Geisler
0:00
-27:23

You Can Set The World on Fire with Tanya Geisler

A main focus of certified Leadership Coach Tanya Geisler’s work is with the imposter complex. Come on, don’t act like you don’t have one. We all do, even the most accomplished of us have that voice that tells us we need to do more, work harder and just be better.  On today’s show, I talk with Tanya about how she landed on this work as well as how the imposter shows up in her in terms of the book she wants to write but hasn’t yet. I coach her through her book idea and we debate what kind of book she could write.

She has a great Iconic quiz which she created to not make people feel crappy about having the value of perfection. Why isn’t it okay that you want to show up for excellence? You can be a big vision thinker but women who own businesses, or first time authors, tend to have a intrinsic desire to belong which can be translated into a desire to belong in a tribal way. So we cap ourselves because it doesn’t feel good to be the first. Or what got me here won’t get me there, and what I need to do means I have to become a variation of myself I don’t want to be.

When people we love in our life tell us they see so much for us at a young age, we can feel the onus of the broadness of that goal. So when supporting women, Tonya likes to be super intentional in her recognition of what is available for women. She talks about the book is the expression of thought leadership. Writing comes out of us to be expressed from our hearts. Sometimes we don’t understand why we want to write about what sets us on fire so we suppress it when in fact it is our greatest message.

She also tells me she loves the name of my podcast with “the fire of a thousand suns” which may be my favorite statement of 2023.

You can learn more about Tanya at

https://tanyageisler.com/

If you enjoyed this show, may we suggest other similar episodes you may like? Check out recent episodes with Sarah Sperry, a Wellness Coach who works with women about burnout, or one of my great book clients Ethan Bach talking about his five psychotic breaks. Subscribe to not miss any upcoming guests, and if you liked this episode, I would love a review! It’s the lifeblood of podcasts.

I have written a  book!  Check out No Longer Denying Sexual Abuse: Making The Choices That Can Change Your Life. I also have a 21 week series Abused No Longer

0 Comments
I Give You Permission with Kim O'Hara
You Should Write A Book About That™
Book Coach to Best Sellers™ Kim O’Hara loves writers of all kinds. She also is a writer, and finds there are endless conversations to be had about the craft and psychology of writing. Join her each episode as she talks with a variety of writers - comedians, authors, coaches, speakers, songwriters, TV writers, to name a few - about their craft. The conversations can get personal in nature, as writing is truly an exploration of self. To learn more about Kim O'Hara as a Book Coach, go to kimohara.com or sign up for the latest on her books at kimoharabooks.com.