Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

It's the last month of 2022...

And if you want real quiet, go to towns no one else wants to go.

I have issues with noise. I always have. Noise cancellation headphones don’t do squat for me. People have suggested I put ear plugs under the headphones but that doesn’t do it for me either. I seem to attract in every coffee shop I work in the one guy who does not understand how loud and grating his voice is. But truly, I have talked to other people about this, and it’s starting to get out of control in coffee shops. People are setting up temporary desks with full on head sets and multiple phones and running full on e commerce businesses. It’s wrong! Get a room! Clearly I will never have the cone of silence I crave in a coffee shop or in Los Angeles period. I live in a very urban part of the city where guard dogs bark out of anxiety and loneliness, ice cream trucks are invasive, loud and insistent and the sound of the bass music from cars penetrates the core of my beating heart. On my recent trip to Phoenix, I stayed with friends out in rural Arizona. I wondered, why live here, of all places? Then when the sun went down, and the quiet set in, and the stars came out, I knew why. There are no lights, sounds, cars, parties or urgency of a city. No yaking guy talking Crypto in the coffee shop. Just silence. As I laid in the thick darkness of their guest room preparing for sleep, I wondered if I could handle this kind of silence day after day, where the most intrusive sound is the floor boards. You privately burn for quiet and then when it comes, there is the discomfort.

We learn as we age what we can withstand and what’s a non-negotiable about sound and noise. Before I had kids, I was that very annoyed plane traveler shooting daggers at the crying children. Now I want to help the parent soothe the kids to sleep. While crying children don’t bother me anymore (because mine are grown), I have never changed my stance on noise boundaries when I want to create or think. I need to sink myself into silence to perform the writing I want to lean into. I have to get very serious about silence. I rise at 5 AM when all is still or I rent a private room at a co working space. You can know what makes you your best and take care of yourself as a writer, a thinker or creative. You are not being a diva. You are self-honoring. So the next time you need to “get out of town” for some creative space, consider somewhere you may never rent a place or go. Don’t go to another city that has more of the same noise. Get into the silence and from there you will hear the cooing of a dove, the rustle of the trees or the gentle lowing of a cow. It may seem odd to be renting a track house in the middle of nowhere Arizona, but let me tell you, it will be a new kind of quiet. One that evokes the spirit inside.

If you are looking to do some writing:

Here is the deal. It’s almost the end of 2022 and if you started writing and stopped, I am here to tell you for this month its okay but as of 2023, it’s not. Nothing in this world is more rewarding, freeing and gratifying than immersing yourself into the book writing process. Or even publishing an article on a rewarding widely-read platform like Maria Shriver’s Sunday Paper or writing for The NY Times Modern Love. The joy of having crafted a sentiment or perspective on love, or trauma or just a fantastic story is a high that can’t be bought and sold. So with what you think you can do about writing in 2023, put get accountable on the top of the list at the very least. Here’s how I can help. My thirteen year old got me back up to speed on my Facebook Group Write Your Book in 2023. I had given up on it in my rebrand - too many buttons to push - and she got right in there and gave it a refresh (with a side-eye glance about why I keep opening new browser windows for everything I do.) So I am ready to administer (I think) but I need YOU to get in to the mix and make the community thrive. So come on in here… let’s make some book noise!

What I wish someone would create:

Better noise cancelling headphones. I am going to leave it there.

Technology Tip:

There is a solution for everything, and often it is free. Just remember that if the fear of a technological solution is thwarting your next great brain storm! I am very proud of myself for turning a photo with low KB to a higher KB. This occurred because I had to load pictures onto Apartments.com and they wanted a KB higher than 30 and my pictures were 18. I went to Wikihow first which then led me to LunaPic. This brilliant site changes the ratio of photos and the size. I felt like a technology rockstar and my post was done in an hour. Who knew??

Shameless Plug:

I am more than excited for my class Grow Your Business with Article Writing! (yes I made a graphic in Canva and I am quite proud it took me all of 2 minutes - Canva is our friend!) If you are interested in this class, book a quick call with me and we will get you signed up!

Also (yes this is a double plug this week), I went to a virtual networking group the other night that I had to push myself to attend. My kids were just back from their trip for 10 days with their dad over Thanksgiving and I really wanted to just snuggle into them and decorate the tree and dance to Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas. But I knew I could squeeze the event in and I am so happy I did! I met amazing bomb ass women and one of them was Shana Price who is a master networker and she has a book that helps you keep track of who you met (anyone else tired of the Instagram connect and forget hole?) Here is her link to buy!

Okay triple plug - I am sorry but so much amazing-ness is happening around me with women, I can’t stand it! Here is an event that will blow your socks off and get your 2023 goals set up straight by my book client Angie Wisdom. Get Intentional is a one day event in Orange County not to be missed for an incredible price point. Angie is serious about you living the life you want, and emphasizing, it starts with you!

0 Comments
I Give You Permission with Kim O'Hara
Authors
Kim O'Hara